7-day free trial Book a demo
The Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Parliament

Posted by matt-terrell | 27 January 2010

The proposal for the creation of a Scottish Parliament was approved in a referendum on September 11th 1997 with 1,775,045 votes (74.3%) in favour of the Parliament and 614,400 votes (25.7%) against it.

The proposal to grant this Scottish Parliament tax-varying powers also passed with 1,512,889 votes (63.5%) in favour of such powers and 870,263 votes (36.5%) against the proposal. Voter turnout: 60.4%.

The Scottish Parliament, elected on May 6th 1999, sat for the first time the following week on May 12th. It took up its full legislative powers on July 1st. It is responsible for making new laws that will affect the people of Scotland. The then government was formed of a coalition between Labour and the Liberal Democrats, reflected in the party’s choice of First Minister, Jack McConnell (Labour) and the Deputy First Ministry and Minister for Justice, Jim Wallace QC (Liberal Democrat).

Further elections to the Scottish Parliament were held on 1st May 2003. Labour was returned with 50 seats, the Tories with 18 and the Liberal Democrats with 17. The key change was the fall in the SNP vote with only 27 seats and the rise of the smaller parties such as the Scottish Socialist Party, which returned with 5 seats. A number of independent members were returned to complete the full list of 129 members.

The most recent elections were held in 2007 and saw the emergence of the first minority Scottish Government formed by the SNP. The SNP was unable to agree coalition terms with other parties after being returned with 47 seats.

The powers of the Scottish Parliament

(see Scotland Act 1998, and especially s. 29 of the Scotland Act 1998)

The Scottish Parliament is responsible for most domestic policy matters, while international matters, and those that might have a “knock-on” effect throughout the UK, remain at UK level. Key examples are given below, although the full list of devolved and reserved matters is lengthier.

Key areas of devolved responsibility: Health, Education, Transport, Housing, Training, Economic development, Rural Affairs, Environment

Reserved matters

The policy issues that are still decided at UK level (in “Westminster”), such as Defence, Foreign Affairs, Employment Law, and Social Security.

Main Areas still covered by Westminster (reserved matters): Constitutional issues, Foreign and Defence policy; most economic policy, Social Security, Medical ethics

Parliamentary System

The Scottish Parliament, unlike many other systems of government around the world, has one chamber for legislation (a unicameral system); many countries have a bicameral system, e.g. House of Commons and the House of Lords, U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

The work that would have been done by a second chamber instead takes place in 17 specialised Committees, made up of MSPs. There is also a Presiding Officer, with a similar role to the Speaker of the House of Commons, i.e. in ensuring the daily business of the Parliament is conducted in an orderly and efficient manner. There are also two Deputy Presiding Officers.

The Stages of a Bill

The Parliamentary process that a Bill follows varies depending on the type of Bill. The following describes the most usual process applied to a Bill.

This consists of three stages:

  1. consideration of its general principles, and a decision whether they are agreed to (by Parliamentary Committee and by the Parliament)
  2. consideration of the details of the Bill (by Parliamentary Committee)
  3. final consideration of it and a decision whether it should be passed or rejected (by the Parliament)

Related Blogs

Posted by matt-terrell | 2nd January 2016
The Northern Ireland Assembly was established as part of the Belfast Agreement reached at the multi-party negotiations on Friday 10th April 1998, known as the “Good Friday Agreement”, which established...
Posted by justis1 | 17th April 2015
Recently I was reading that Justice Cory Gilmore, of the Ontario Superior Court, may have set precedent when he declared a power to strike provisions from a will because of...
Posted by matt-terrell | 18th January 2015
Head of State: Queen Elizabeth II Prime Minister (First Lord of the Treasury): David Cameron (MP) (Conservative) INTRODUCTION The Parliament of the United Kingdom is the supreme legislature of Great...